

### **The Paper Industry Gold Medal**

## **Call for Nominations**

From time to time there are a few outstanding people who work to further the interests of their industry, over and above their duties to any individual company. The Paper Industry, like any other, owes its success to the commitment, effort and skill of these ambassadors. For over forty years the UK paper industry has sought to reward this commitment in the form of a prestigious annual award

#### A Brief Background:

The **Gold Medal Award** was established in 1966 by "*The World's Paper Trade Review*" magazine which was published by Benn Brothers and edited by Eric Haylock. The magazine later became known as "*Paper*" and its publishers continued to sponsor the Medal until 1993.

In 1982 Mr George Mandl, himself the Gold Medal winner in 1981, launched the **Paper Industry Gold Medallists'** Association with the support of all concerned and since 2005, a newly formed independent 'Gold Medal Association' has undertaken this responsibility and representatives from other supporting Paper Industry Organisations have been invited to serve on its Award Committee. All Gold Medal winners are automatically members of the Gold Medal Association and thus it is probably one of the most exclusive associations in the UK Paper Industry.

#### The Future of the Medal:

Since the Medal was launched the UK Paper Industry has changed a great deal. Accordingly the number and type of businesses, industries and organisations associated with it have increased too. To reflect these changes, the Committee wishes to broaden the scope of the award to encourage more support from associations / organisations and to enable nominees from a wide variety of backgrounds across the Fibre, Paper and Board Value Chain to be considered.

This is your opportunity to be involved by nominating a potential recipient.

#### How to Nominate Someone:

Nominations are accepted from associations and other organisations associated with the industry, or from individuals or companies through their respective organisations.

The nominees must be within a pulp or paper related industry and the nomination must include supporting material which demonstrates the individual's personal contribution to the Industry as a whole, not just to their company.

Nominations are invited Annually. The Committee must receive all nominations by the end of January in order that the Gold Medal can be presented at an appropriate industry function; indeed, it is usual to make the presentation at the Charter Dinner of the Worshipful Company of Stationers and Newspaper Makers, which usually takes place around May.

If you would like to nominate someone, please write to the address below giving as much information about your nominee as possible and in particular provide specific examples of your nominee's achievements on behalf of the industry and why you consider him (or her) to be a suitable recipient of the medal.

All nominations MUST be received at the address below by the end of June.

#### What about the Winner of the Gold Medal?

Winning the **Gold Medal Award** is a prestigious achievement and as such brings the recipient well-earned publicity and recognition. The winner automatically becomes a member of the **Gold Medal Association** and is invited to write a paper on their topic of expertise which will be offered for publication in the UK's leading Trade Journal, *Paper Technology*.

#### For Further Information:

Contact the Honorary Secretary (Barry Read) via:



# **The Paper Industry Gold Medal Previous Recipients**

1967 Leslie W.Farrow CBE
1968 Cecil H.King
1969 J.B.Scott CBE,DFC,AIEE
1970 Percy Ellis CBE, OBE, TD
1971 Michael Lambert CBE
1972 Dr George L.Riddell OBE, PhD, BSc, FRIC, FIOP
1973 John S.Curtis CBE
1974 Cyril B.Warmington FCA
1975 Dr H.F. (Toby) Rance PhD, BSc, ARCS, FRIC
1976 S.R.W. (Bill) Bailey MBE
1977 Peter Gardner CBE, MC, TD
1978 Peter L.Whiting JP
1979 Leonard Pagliero OBE, FCIS
1980 Dr Julius Grant MSc, PhD, FRIC
1981 George T.Mandl MBE, FRSA
1982 Hugh R.Balston JP
1983 Kenneth Horne
1984 John Adams CB, LVO
1985 Geoffrey Burditt FCA
1986 Eric Haylock OBE, JP
1987 Tom Wilding
1988 Albert de Monts
1989 Eric Langdon OBE
1990 David Peacock
1991 David A.Clark

1992 Peter D.J.Ingram 1993 Baroness Brenda Dean 1994 Brian Attwood 1995 Oliver Acland 1996 Stefan G.Kay OBE 1997 Dr Glyn Jones PhD, Hon DSc. 1999 John R.Paine 2000 Jeffery Bartlett OBE 2002 Sandy Stratton 2003 Barry Lyons 2005 Kevin Lyden OBE 2006 David Klemz 2007 J Stephen Mason 2008 John Clewley 2010 Michael Clark 2011 Sir James Cropper KCVO 2012 Dr Wolfgang Palm 2013 Nick Steidl 2015 Peter Duxbury 2016 Kevin Dewey 2017 Martyn Eustace 2018 Peter Bower

### The Paper Industry Gold Medal Association

c/o The Paper Industry Technical Association ¦ PO Box 721 ¦ Bury ¦ BL8 9UZ T: 0300 3020 150 ¦ F: 0300 3020 160 ¦ E: info@papergoldmedal.org.uk ¦ https://papergoldmedal.org.uk/